About Us

The Solid Waste Management Coordinating Board (SWMCB) has worked since 1990, to increase the efficiency and environmental effectiveness of the region's solid waste management system and save taxpayer dollars.

Rethink Recycling is the SWMCB's go-to guide for waste and recycling in the Twin Cities metropolitan area. We want to help residents and businesses in the region understand the need to make environmentally responsible purchasing, disposal, and recycling decisions in their daily lives. Responsible disposal of unwanted items is necessary for a healthy environment and helps protect public health. 

The SWMCB member counties that make Rethink Recycling possible are:

Anoka County

Commissioner Scott Schulte, Secretary/Treasurer
Commissioner Matt Look 

Carver County

Commissioner Jim Ische
Commissioner Tom Workman

Dakota County

Commissioner Chris Gerlach 
Commissioner Liz Workman, SWMCB Chair

Hennepin County

Commissioner Jan Callison, SWMCB Vice-Chair
Commissioner Peter McLaughlin 

Ramsey County

Commissioner Victoria Reinhardt
Commissioner Janice Rettman

Washington County

Commissioner Gary Kriesel
Commissioner Fran Miron 

Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Director Dave Benke